[ — > download this page as a pdf here  ]

The Swiss Micro- and Nanotechnology Network is offering five prizes each of 2’000 CHF for excellent scientific first-author publications in the field of Nanotechnology and Nanoscience published by PhD students in 2016/2017 sponsored by:



The prizes will be awarded at the annual Swiss Nanoconvention conference, being held from 1-2 June 2017, in Fribourg.


As a rule, the work should come from a Swiss university or research institute, and should not be older than 2 years. The manuscript can be written in German, French or English and must be either accepted for publication in a peer-reviewed journal or published in a peer-reviewed journal not longer than one year before the submission deadline.

The application must include:

  1. A nomination letter by the PhD advisor
  2. A curriculum vitae including a list of activities and publications
  3. A short summary stating the importance of the work (max 1⁄2 page)
  4. A copy of the manuscript of the published work


The documents must be submitted by the 31.3.2017 to the following address (by Email):

Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser
Adolphe Merkle Institute
Université de Fribourg
Ch. des Verdiers 4 CH-1700 Fribourg
Phone +41 26 300 95 02


Prize Committee:

Prof. Jens Gobrecht (PSI)
Dr. Karl Knop (SATW)
Dr. Pierangelo Gröning (Empa Materials Science and Technology, Dübendorf)
Prof. Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser (Adolphe Merkle Institute, University of Fribourg)
Prof. Christian Schönenberger (Swiss Nanoscience Institute, University of Basel)


Communication of the prize:

The prize winners will be introduced on the website of the Swiss Micro- and Nanotechnology Network.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/clients/287c329fc0f569e44fd38d03c370691a/web/2017/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsi_frontpopUp.php on line 63