Last update: June 12, 2023

Final Program

Click on a speaker’s name to view bio and abstract.

Wednesday 14 June 2023
Exhibition Setup
Thursday 15 June 2023
08:00Registration Opens
09:00 - 09:30Introduction and Welcome

Prof. Alexandra Kämpfer-Homsy, HES-SO / He-Arc, Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Dr. Michel Despont, CSEM SA, Switzerland

Mr. Alain Ribaux, State Minister, Department of Economy, Security and Cultural Affairs, Canton of Neuchâtel, Switzerland

09:30 - 10:40Nano-imaging
Chair: Prof. Yasin Ekinci, PSI
Prof. Manuel Guizar Sicairos, Paul Scherrer Institute, Photon Science Division & École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Institute of Physics, Switzerland

3D coherent lensless nanoimaging using X-ray synchrotron sources

Dr. Petra Simoncic, Chief Innovation Officer, ELDICO Scientific AG, Switzerland

Electron Diffraction – Structure Elucidation of Nano-Crystalline Materials

Prof. Dr. Jan Pieter Abrahams, Basel University, Biozentrum, Switzerland

Cryo-EM of LonP1: a dynamic molecular machine

10:40 - 11:10Coffee Break & Exhibition Visit
11:10 - 11:40Güntherodt Lecture
Chair: Prof. Christian Schönenberger, SNI (University of Basel)
Prof. Simon Scheuring, Weill Cornell Medicine, Department of Anesthesiology, Department of Physiology & Biophysics, USA

High-speed atomic force microscopy captures conformational transitions and transient conformational states in membrane proteins

11:40 - 12:50Advanced manufacturing at nanoscale
Chair: Prof. Silvia Schintke, HEIG-VD, HES-SO
Prof. Daryl W. Yee, EPFL, Institute of Electrical and Micro Engineering, Switzerland

Hydrogel Infusion Additive Manufacturing: Simple Chemistries for Advanced Materials

Dr. Ivo Utke, Empa, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Laboratory for Mechanics of Materials and Nanostructures, Switzerland

High resolution 3D nanomaterials printing with focused electron beams

Dr. Saskia Bindschedler, University of Neuchâtel, Faculty of Sciences, Institute of Biology, Laboratory of Microbiology, Switzerland

Microbial biodegradation of paper electronics as a waste valorization strategy?

Dr. Andrea Vaccaro, CTO, LS Instruments, Switzerland

Advanced light scattering techniques for the characterization of novel materials.

12:50 - 14:00Lunch, Poster Session & Exhibition Visit
14:00 - 15:10Applied Industry Projects
Chair: Dr. Marcus Morstein, Hightech Zentrum Aargau
Silke Traut, COO, Dectris AG, Switzerland

Single X-Ray Photon and Electron Counting: Pushing the limits of detection technology

Dr. Reinhard Völkel, CEO SUSS MicroOptics, Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Micro, Meta, Nano – the Planar Optics Revolution

Dr. Andreas Hogg, CEO, Coat-X SA, Switzerland

Innovative parylene based PECVD/ALD multilayer
with optimized surface functionality based on nanomaterials

Dr. Florian Döring, CEO, XRnanotech , Switzerland

Nanostructured Diffractive Optics – New Opportunities at Small Wavelengths

15:10 - 15:40Coffee Break & Exhibition Visit
15:40 - 16:50Smart nanomaterials
Chair: Dr. Raphaël Pugin, CSEM SA
Dr. Luciano Fernandes Boesel, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology (Empa), Laboratory for Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles, Switzerland

Nanostructured polymers for biomedical and energy-related applications

Prof. Jovana V. Milić, Adolphe Merkle Institute, University of Fribourg, Switzerland

Multifunctional Perovskite Materials for Smart Photovoltaics

Dr. Xavier Lefévre, Nanoscale Technology - CSEM SA, Switzerland

Porous layers for environmental electrochemical sensors development

Dr. Marek Oszajca, Avantama AG, Switzerland

Perovskite Nanocrystals for Displays – from LCD to Micro-LED and QD-OLED

16:50 - 18:30Poster Session with Aperitif

Kindly Sponsored by the City of Neuchâtel

  • Dedicated poster session
  • Networking Aperitif
  • Vote for Best Poster Prizes

18:30Adjourn for the Day
Friday 16 June 2023
08:00Registration Opens
08:30 - 08:40Welcome

Mr. Didier Boillat, City Councilor, City of Neuchâtel, Switzerland

08:40 - 09:50Quantum Technologies
Chair: Prof. Kirsten Moselund, PSI
Dr. Cezar Zota, IBM Research, Rüschlikon, Switzerland

Cryogenic electronics for quantum computing

Prof. Dr. Cristina Benea-Chelmus, Hybrid Photonics Laboratory, EPFL, Switzerland

Integrated photonic transducers

Dr. Alexander Grimm, Bosonic Quantum Information Group, PSI, Switzerland

Nanofabrication aspects of bosonic quantum information processing with Schrödinger-cat qubits

Marco Nordmann, Qnami AG, Switzerland

Qnami ProteusQ: A commercial solution unlocking magnetic field measurments in nanoscale magnetic materials

09:50 - 10:20Coffee & Exhibition Visit
10:20 - 11:20Start-up Competition
Chair: Dr. Lorenz Herrmann, Empa
Participating Companies:
Session and prize sponsored by the Swiss MNT Network

Swiss MNT logo

11:20 - 12:30Podium Discussion
Chairs: Dr. Michel Despont, CSEM SA & Dr. Cemal Aydogan, Hitachi Energy
Topic: The Swiss flavour of the Chip Act

Confirmed Panelists:

  • Tobias Keller (Hitachi Energy, Vice President)
  • Alain-Serge Porret (CSEM, Vice President)
  • Maximilian Rothenberger (Spacetek AG, CCO)
  • Maurus Tschirky (Evatec, Strategic Marketing Manager)
  • Reinhard Völkel (SüssMicrooptics, CEO)
  • Michael Zickar (VAT Vakuumventile AG, Vice President R&D)
12:30 - 14:00Lunch, Poster Session & Exhibition Visit
14:00 - 15:10Nanophotonics and nano-optics
Chair: Prof. Alexandra Kämpfer-Homsy, HES-SO / He-Arc, Neuchâtel
Prof. Giulia Tagliabue, Laboratory of Nanoscience for Energy Technologies (LNET – IGM – STI), EPFL, Switzerland

Controlling Charge and Heat Generation with Photonic Metasurfaces

Prof. Dr. Ilaria Zardo, Nanophononics Lab, Departments of Physics and Swiss Nanoscience Institute, University of Basel, Switzerland

Investigating phonons and thermal transport by inelastic light scattering and pump-probe spectroscopy

Dr. Maria Sanz-Paz, Department of Physics, University of Fribourg, Switzerland

DNA-Templated Ultracompact Optical Antennas for Unidirectional Single-Molecule Emission

Dr. Guillaume Basset, Micro-Nano Optics, CSEM SA, Switzerland

Manufacturing advanced micro and nano optics for quantum devices

15:10 - 15:40Coffee & Exhibition Visit
15:40 - 16:50Nanotechnology for Medtech
Chair: Prof. Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser, AMI Uni-FR
Prof. Dr. Rene Rossi, Laboratory for Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology (Empa), Switzerland

Smart fibers for sensing and drug delivery applications

Prof. Dr. Oya Tagit, Head of the Group Biointerfaces, Swiss Nanoscience Institute (SNI) & Executive Committee Member; University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland, School of Life Sciences - Institute of Chemistry and Bioanalytics, Switzerland

Immunomodulatory nanomedicines development: from bench to the bedside

Dr. Emmanuel Delamarche, Senior Manager, Spiden AG, Switzerland

Ultraminiaturized bio-assays by bending liquids

Prof. Sumita Pennathur, UC Santa Barbara; CEO LAXMI therapeutic devices, USA

From in-vitro to implantable medical devices -- where technology can make a difference.

16:50 - 17:20Awards Ceremony

Prof. Alexandra Kämpfer-Homsy, HES-SO / He-Arc, Neuchâtel. MNT Board, SNC 2023 co-Chair

Michel Despont (CSEM). Swiss MNT Board, SNC 2023 co-Chair

  1. Image Contest Award
    Presented by Dr. Michel Despont, CSEM

  2. Best Poster Awards
    Presented by Prof. Alexandra Kämpfer-Homsy, HES-SO / He-Arc, Neuchâtel & Prof. Silvia Schintke, HEIG-VD, HES-SO

  3. Swiss Nanotechnology Start-Up Prize
    Presented by Dr. Lorenz Herrmann, Empa

  4. Swiss Nanotechnology PhD Awards 2023
    Presented by Prof. Christian Schönenberger, SNI (University of Basel)

17:20 - 17:30Final Remarks

Conference wrap-up and announcement of SNC 2024

17:30Conference Adjourns & Light Farewell Reception